Shadowboxing Your Fears and Doubts

Image

Guest Entry by R. Byron Hord
When I was in college, I loved the song entitled, “Shadowboxing”, by  Hip Hop legends, The Wu-Tang Clan. As addressed in the song, I always thought shadowboxing, was just a cool way of honing martial art skills – but shadowboxing is actually much more than that.
Every day we are at war: not with our surroundings; not with our jobs; not with our enemies; not with our family; not with our friends; but, at constant war with ourselves. It is a war with no guns and tanks, just with words and our subconscious voices. The ‘War of Art ‘calls it Resistance. ‘The Course in Miracles’ calls it Ego. Regardless of what you call your inner voice and self talk, they are not going anywhere. And, some days it beats us up. While other days… it takes us to new heights. Some days it is our happy fairy whispering sweet melody in our ears. While other days, it is devil on your shoulder, telling you to give up.
Whatever it is… it follows us through life, just like our shadow.
It is what causes you to question your decisions. Is this the right mate for me? Is this the right job? How do I look today? I have a deadline… I don’t think I can make it. My leg is hurting; I am not going to be able to make it to the gym. That is when… ding, ding, ding… the fight begins… Welcome to Shadowboxing!
So the question is: How do you train for combat with that shadow?
Well, life is the training. It’s like, experience works out your legs and shoulders; perseverance works your back and triceps; and, confidence handles your chest and biceps. And after that full body workout… how do you get the first round knockout?… FAITH!
It is only faith that will get you through. Your undying faith that you will be great in any circumstance you are placed in. Money. Health. Relationships. Knowing that greatness is right around the corner. Realizing that greatness is approaching. Acknowledging that greatness is that light at the end of the tunnel.
But be careful… because right before that light at the end of the tunnel touches your face, or blinds your eyes… there is going to be that shadow behind you positioning itself to give you the knockout blow! But, with your life training and your faith… you should be ready to put that shadow in it’s proper place…behind you!

LIKE|COMMENT|SHARE

Sign up for our free weekly newsletter on Personal Empowerment by Jeff Moore!

19 responses to “Shadowboxing Your Fears and Doubts

  1. Thanks once more Jeff,
    such an inspiring message coming a few months before I publish My Story in spite of some challenges, is a great booster. Yes I will shadowbox no more so help me God!

  2. Fourth message I have received on resistance. One came tonight as I was reading The Astonishing Power of Emotions by Abraham – Hicks, second one Pema Chodron – getting unstuck, the Power of Now by Eckart Tolle and now you. The universe is sending one clear message. Thank you for being in sync and showing us how to connect with our higher selves.

  3. Reblogged this on Marie Abanga's Blog and commented:
    It is always good to start of the week with Inspiration and whatever I get from the MyEverydayPower Blog, I share with you all.
    I go by the saying that what is good for the geese is sure good for the gander or do you think otherwise …
    I never knew the term “Shadowboxing” but now that I have a word to define such actions, I will be more weary and instead go for the real “Boxing Off” of my Fears and Doubts and what of you…

Comments are closed.