3 Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship

In this post we explore how meaningful friendships develop our inner strength by creating the support team we need to live a life filled with love and positive energy. Friendship fulfills one of our most essential human needs.

Let’s take a closer look at what makes a great, long lasting friend!

Some friends you see all the time, some friends you see here and there and some friends you don’t see as often as you would like. The beautiful thing about friendship is that it lives in the heart, so daily sight isn’t always needed for them to have a place in your life. Here are 3 clear signs you have a great friend.

1. When you see them, it is like no time has passed.  Yes, you might not have seen them in weeks, months or even years but when you do see them,  it picks up right where it left off. The conversation, the jokes, mutual appreciation and love are strong.

2. Your friend is genuinely happy to hear your good news, and vice versa. Even though there has been time apart, your success makes the other person glow and vice versa! When one close friend achieves, we all do! When one close friend makes big moves in their life, we all do!

3. After reuniting with that friend for lunch, dinner , coffee or even a trip, you think – I am blessed to have that person my life. Odds are with any close friend you have in your life, there was a period where you would see or talk to that person regularly. Now that times might not be like that, you are even more thankful to have them as a part of your life and even your identity.

The quality of our life is based on the quality of our relationships. One of the strongest relationships we can have is a great friend!

“What is a friend? A single soul dwelling in two bodies.” -Aristotle

“When you doubt yourself, think of all the others who believe in you”Unknown

Sign up for our weekly newsletter on Personal Empowerment, Motivation and Success!

everyday power newsletter

Take a second to LIKE, COMMENT & SHARE!

111 responses to “3 Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship

  1. That is too true. I know dozens of people but I would never consider them real friends. My native language, Polish, makes a very fitting distinction between “koledzy/koleżanki” and “przyjaciele”, with the latter signifying true friends, as opposed to acquaintances. I think I have only one “przyjaciel” in my life, and I’m glad I have him. As my grandmother once said, true friends are rare diamonds that you collect throughout your whole life. Even one makes me feel a very rich person…

  2. I really enjoyed this; sorta reminded me of one of my most recent posts about friendship and how our friends contribute to our lives. Friends are indeed special – thanks for sharing.

  3. So true! I have a lot of friends that live far away and that makes it hard to talk to them all the time, but that friendship is still strong.

    Thanks for this well-worded reminder 🙂

    Great blog by the way! I love it!

  4. Thank you so much!The last few days I’ve been missing my best guy friend a lot. We had a disagreement a couple of weeks ago and we haven’t talked since. I know how deep our friendship and the love we have for each other is and I know we will get through this!

  5. Pingback: Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship | dont4get2smile2day·

  6. I really like this post. What I have found is that sometimes, even with the best and closest of friends, changes in life circumstances can lead to one friend outgrowing the other, or even both outgrowing each other. It’s kind of tough when this happens, obviously. I envy the people who have had lifelong friendships. I’ve only ever gotten twenty-some-odd years out of mine (at the most).

  7. This was a very well stated point. I showed this to the few people I would consider true friends and they were very touched. Thank you for writing this!

  8. Reblogged this on Everyday Elzie and commented:
    I am so blessed to have friends like this! I see them and it doesn’t matter how much time has passed, we are just as close as we were during our last beer pong match!

  9. Pingback: 3 Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship | work-life-cosmos·

  10. Point 2 hit home for me. I realise it is a failing of mine.

    I find myself jealous of friends when their lives move forward as mine seems to always remain static. These are people I consider to be great friends so I need to have a word with myself. I should be happy for them, thanks for getting me thinking.

    I appreciate you stopping by http://livingwithmydisability.wordpress.com/ and following my little blog. After studying some of your posts I’m sure I can learn plenty following you, thanks.

    Steven

  11. Friends are life’s treasure. Thanks for visiting my blog and following. I am looking forward to following yours and feeling the inspiration.

  12. Beautiful and what a wonderful mission you are on! I support you 100% people need to be inspired, uplifted and encouraged. Thank you for your commitment to this. Have a great week :

    • Great post… talk about moving past the shallow, superficial relationships most men are known for, into more fulfilling and life changing ones…

  13. Very good topic to touch on, we have better communication yet deteriorating values. Love the quote by Aristotle 🙂 Cheers Thanks for sharing 🙂

  14. So true..I saw an old friend on the train between Montreal and Toronto. I hadn’t seen her for about 25 years. It was like we had parted yesterday. We didn’t stop talking the whole trip. I have not seen her since, but another twenty five haven’t gone by just yet!

  15. I believe our few true friends we are blessed to have in our life are pre designed to fill a need we have as foreseen by God. Gives me comfort to know the way I feel blessed by having those few in my life….I have also been able to bless in return. Having a happy life can only happen when you know you have acted as a blessing to others when you could. You can’t just take and expect that same happiness.

  16. I love this blog it’s so true! I’m away from most of my childhood friends and friends that I have from Sicily (I only see them every summer) and when I see them there’s never guilt for the lost time but it’s as if we’ve never been apart

  17. Thank you for stopping by my blog HappinessHeals and liking my post Affirmation, Gratitude and Gluten, Dairy, Egg Free. Gratitude Dance. Thank you for sharing your truth too! :~) Indeed, great friends make my life worth living! Great Post!

  18. Reblogged this on The Smile Diary and commented:
    Friends are so important. Contact a friend you haven’t seen for a while and arrange to meet up – for drinks, lunch or even just invite them to your place for a cup of tea and a chat. You’ll feel happier for having made plans and even better when you see them =)

  19. Hi Jeff, thanks for introducing yourself by following our site. Friendship is one of the ultimate forms of both community and collaboration, it’s great to hear such positive points of view about it. Cheers!

  20. Reblogged this on learnactshare and commented:
    I’ve moved around quite a bit and I’m sometimes jealous of those who still live in the same town, hang out with their high school buddies on weekends, etc. As a result, I mistakenly have thought that perhaps I do not have any great friends. Then I read this post and reflected on those who are hanging out with their high school buddies and have been anchored to their past and likely do not benefit from the three signs listed.

    I do have great friends I look forward to talking to, checking in with, and being accountable to. I’m reenergized each time I meet with them and I feel like a better person and the hours feel like minutes.

    This will sound cheesy, but I’m also amazed every time I see my wife Steph in action. It’s like I’m meeting a great person for the first time and I’m in awe of her talents and drive. I live with her daily, and of course I sometimes take advantage of our relationship. But a short business trip or long hours at work always makes me glad and humbled that I have her – and excited to be near her again – and that she is willing to put up with me!

    Reach out to a great friend, let them know how much they are appreciated. I need to go and write a love note to Steph.

  21. Pingback: 3 Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship | learnactshare·

  22. in a life time it is rare we get to meet people who we can truly call them a friend. I am bless to have these people. What you have written is correct and it filled my heart and made me smile. Near or far…true friendship pick up where they left off if you haven’t seen them in a while. true friendship is when you can let go and fully be yourself…be silly, cry, and most importantly…laugh. When you are sick, they give you a shoulder to lean on, simple words to make you feel better, help you in whatever you need. You never feel alone. Near or far, you know they are there with you. I am grateful to these friends and I hold them close and dear to my heart always.

  23. “When one close friend achieves, we all do!”, good stuff. I am SOOO blessed with the people in my life who are cheering me on in my journey. Community is so needed and yet sadly in our culture individualism is exalted instead. Great post 🙂

  24. Good friends are the real treasures in life. I’m so thankful for mine! Thanks for stopping by “What’s The Good Word?” and for the like of “Times Like These”.

  25. That was my wife when we were friends. So I married her. Best reason to marry is friendship. I liked that! So many want to “subscribe” to our face- even family, but it becomes clear they weary very early.

  26. Reblogged this on Strangely Sane and commented:
    I am one of the lucky ones.
    I have two best friends, three if we count my Hubby.

    And since we are miles away from each other, our hearts are knit together with the fabric of friendship. Each time we get to see each other, we easily fall into old routines, there’s no awkward silence, no hoping we didn’t say the wrong thing…life is back to the normal we knew as children.

    And life is good.

  27. I have a few of these friends. I’ve recently got back in touch with few of them, not having seem them for a few years. And it is like time stood still. And it does indeed make me so happy. We tell each other that we’d like to see each other more often, but then life comes in between.

  28. Great post. Helps me define who are real friends and who are acquaintances. Furthermore, helps me see when I’m being a real friend. Thanks.

  29. I have that friend..who always with me when i am confused, tired to fight with life,..He can understand what i am. what i want and no one can understand me like this. so feeling great to have him as a friend.

  30. Pingback: Everyday Power’s Top 10 Blog Posts from 2013 | Everyday Power Blog·

  31. Pingback: 15 Super Simple but Highly Effective Tips to Inspire Your Inner Winner | Everyday Power Blog·

  32. Pingback: 15 Super Simple but Highly Effective Tips to Inspire Your Inner Winner | Everyday Power Blog·

  33. Pingback: 15 Super Simple but Highly Effective Tips to Inspire Your Inner Winner | gracistsumbuli·

Comments are closed.