What exactly is FEAR?

Image

In this short post, we look at the choices we have when fear presents itself. Fear will determine our levels of love, significance, success, achievement, motivation and contribution. When fear presents itself, what meaning do you put behind it?

Let’s get started!

I loved this image for a couple of reasons. The acronyms are sheer genius, but second and even more important – it reinforces and recognizes the choice we always have and the power we ALWAYS have. How we handle fear will determine who we are. Fear will determine the relationships you do or do not have, the places you go or don’t go, what you can and can’t handle, what you say yes or no to, your ability to seize opportunities and your able to learn, do, try and become something new. POWERFUL STUFF!!

Make fear your friend. Make fear the best thing to ever happen to you.

Make fear put you on a path of achievement and power.

Make your ability to ‘rise above’ fear, the foundation for your confidence, self esteem and self image.

And always remember that FEAR is nothing more than False Evidence Appearing Real!

Don’t let fear shrink you, LIVE LARGE. LIVE WITH HOPE, BELIEF, PATIENCE AND TOLERANCE!

What is fear to you?

Fear failure? “Remember there is no failure only feedback…Failure is an event not a person”Tony Robbins

Sign up for our weekly newsletter on Personal Empowerment, Motivation and Success!

everyday power newsletter

Take a second to LIKE, COMMENT & SHARE!

104 responses to “What exactly is FEAR?

  1. Pingback: What exactly is FEAR? – spirit tree·

  2. Hi Jeff,

    Love the acronyms up top!

    About fear, I always ask myself, “What is there really to fear?”, which translates into, “What have you got to lose?”.

    In this day & age, what do we really have to fear, at least here in the “developed world”? Not likely to get eaten by a lion today. So fear for physical safety is largely absent.

    Fear of losing some value? Well, that’s legitimate fear, and when you feel it, you need to take a look and maybe make a plan for protecting your interests. Sometimes fear has a valid message.

    I think the biggest fears many people have are irrational, what I call “the fear of being found out”. It’s either a fear of being found wanting in some endeavor or question of knowledge, which is embarrassing; or, far worse, it’s a fear of having a lie exposed.

    In the case of the former, don’t worry about it. As long as you give 100%, there’s nothing to be embarrassed about.

    In the case of the latter, the solution is simple. Don’t lie.

    Honesty and enthusiasm kill irrational fears. Planning and forethought take care of legitimate fears.

    Best,
    MichaelJ

  3. Fear for me is coming to grips with the person I really am and letting go of the person my culture and historical relationships have pressured me to be…no easy path to navigate.

  4. Pingback: What exactly is FEAR? | memoirsofaninsanewoman·

  5. I look at fear as: false expectations appearing real. I am confident in who I am. I don’t believe in the false expectations. I can achieve greatness.

  6. Fear can ruin your life. One should monitor effect of fear in their children right from childhood. Your blog can help children in dealing with fear.
    Your blogs are really good. Thanks. Keep motivating us with your good words.
    Best Wishes

  7. Fear is the monster I know I will have face and slay every day…but with time, when I consistently choose fight over flight, the daily battles have become easier and easier to fight. I feel empowered because of this.

  8. That is a great message. People need to be reminded that fear isn’t a voice we have to listen to, its usually a challenge we have to accept. 🙂 Thanks for sharing…

  9. this is a very pertinent message. my bf just ended his relationship with me. it seems to be from his fear of getting too close to me and potentially getting hurt. it makes me sad.

  10. You have a great post here!

    Fear is an illusion, the nightmare that grips you into a sweat of inadequacy . . . and then you turn on the light and realize: It was an appearance, a moment when you forgot your power inside. So turn on the light inside and let it shine through you; Fear is nothing but the absence of light.
    Thanks so much for visiting and following Here You Begin —

    Keep up your good work — you are On Task and On Purpose and shining!!
    Elizabeth

  11. Thank you so much! I’ve spent the last 18 months facing fears I never realized I had. Some of our fears are so subconsciously buried that we don’t realize they are holding us back until something happens to expose the lies we believe because of them.

  12. Pingback: What exactly is FEAR? | TheWrightWayNYC·

  13. I’ve been thinking about fear a lot lately. My husband was so afraid, and his fear eventually led to his suicide. My fears for so long were wrapped up in his depression. Now my fears are more about the unknown, what my future will hold. What I have learned is that it’s okay to feel fear as long as you don’t let it hold you down. I am afraid every day, but I still get up and do what I need to do. Every time I write about my husband, I fear that the words I am putting out will be judged or will hurt his family. Speaking the truth about these thing is hard, sometimes, but it’s the only thing that matters.

  14. The older I get the more fear I have. It is strange because I was fearless in my youth! Interesting and good post! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  15. Fear Is What My Whole Life Has Been Centered Around (In A Negative Way) Until January 25,2013- Present…. Thank You For This!

  16. Intensely inspirational. I enjoyed this. Food for thought. Thanks for sharing

  17. We are only born with two fears. One is the fear of falling and the other is loud noises….. unfortunately the rest we learn however the great news is we can unlearn them and do something different. My fear? Standing in my own light and being alone when I am there.

  18. Pingback: What exactly is FEAR? | Ramblings and Musings·

  19. Fear is healthy respect of danger. It is risk recognition. It is an opportunity to adjust course.

    It is not paralyzing, controlling, or overwhelming.

    The prudent see danger and turn away.

  20. For such a short post, you really summed up a powerful topic. I really like the acronym ‘face everything and rise’. I’m going to remember that.

  21. “Forget everything and run,” has zero application. Have you ever really tried to forget? Not possible, memory always resurfaces. Face everything and rise … that, is the only realistic option!

  22. This article on F.E.A.R. is excellent, but I’ve heard these acronyms elsewhere. Do you know who originally made these acronyms? For example, I know Tony Robbins said your acronym–but I don’t know if he was the original.

    Just wondering! Liked this post anyway.

  23. Fear can be a powerful motivator. And push us to be better than ever. Great post and great reminder of how we can use fear to push us forward!

  24. Fear,is just a brain wrinkle are parents gave us, so let’s give it back, what? No returns? News flash policy change, I create my own reality so I give my fear wrinkles back. Let’s face it fear is taught, learned behavior a nightmare so give it back. Just wrap them all back up and return them, stamped thanks but no thanks.

  25. Pingback: What exactly is FEAR? | For The Anxious Mind·

  26. The constant anticipation of bad things that I’m certain lay ahead. You know what I mean? Where you are just certain God has disowned you and all down sh*t hill from here on out?

  27. Pingback: Top 5 Words to Delete from Your Vocabulary | Everyday Power Blog·

Comments are closed.