19 responses to “Just say yes!

  1. Kids hear ‘no’ 500,000 times by the time they turn 18, and about 40,000 yeses. I’m with you on this. Let’s find ways to say ‘yes’ more and even out that ratio! Even if it’s, “Of course you can go to your friend’s once your chores are done,” instead of, “No you’re not going because you haven’t done your chores!” Pretty simple but revolutionary, really. Thanks for the reminder Jeff! 🙂

  2. A small but powerful word, much more that we realise, thank you for this reminder. Also thanks for liking my post (Keep Dreams in your Heart) I look forward to reading more and being inspired by your outlook. Amber AKA Stop and Smell the Roses

  3. Love this. In 1984 I did one of my leaps and made a big “yes” that I put on my steering wheel to support me wherever I questioned my leap or got afraid So, I now have two “yes’s” in my car so I can see them anytime I am driving. It is a great motivator!

  4. Not sure I entirely agree. I have said ‘yes’ far too often, and I think I need to find ways of saying ‘no’ without actually using that word. I don’t say ‘no’ often enough and I say ‘yes’ to the wrong things which results in a huge waste of my time and energy.
    Thanks for the post, it is a topic that needs further discussion.

    • Cool, I just discussed this a bit with my first comment. I do agree that saying “yes” just because somebody might think they’ve said “no” too many times that day isn’t really a proper use of the “yes power.”

  5. Eh, I wouldn’t really want to say “yes” just for the sake of saying it more often than saying “no.” After all, some parts of accepting personal responsibility do include saying “no” sometimes. However, when it comes to trying new things, go for “yes,” and the step out of the comfort zone can be of great benefit.

  6. Just another perspective… I have/had the opposite of this problem. My inclination was always to say yes to everything, leading to me being drained. Yes I’ll help you move, yes ill help you study, yes I’d love to train the incoming group of volunteers, yes I’d love to tutor that student, yes I’d love to take on another client, yes I will be right over so you can vent to me, yes, yes, YES!! on and on it went. When I became sick. I continued being a “yes” girl and wore myself down to the point of now being disabled. I exercised, ate organically and mostly vegan, I had quiet reflective time at least 20 minutes in the evening, I read for pleasure each day, but it just wasn’t enough! Now, people ask less of me because I am no longer working or volunteering, but when I am asked, I have trouble saying no — but I do it! My health usually comes first
    A lot of people I know also have a “yes” problem and sacrifice in order to be able to say yes to others. I also was a social worker, so I suppose that could be why so many of the people I choose to surround myself with are “yes” people.
    I will say this. You know all those “yeses”? They DID lead to me having an unbelievably useful set of skills and hands on experience fresh out of college! I don’t regret any of it, but do realize I probably wouldn’t be so sick had I said no to opportunities once in awhile. I think I am programmed to say yes, and had I said no I’d have all that I want right now — my health and full life.

  7. Pingback: 3 Ways To Take Control of Your Day! | Everyday Power Blog·

  8. Pingback: About Jeff | Everyday Power Blog | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!·

Comments are closed.