Positive Thinking Stories – 3 things I have learned from working with children

Positive Thinking Stories SAYINGS QUOTES

Positive Thinking Stories

Inspiring and Positive Thinking Stories

As some of you might know, along with being a Life & Wellness Coach I am also a New York City  educator. I’ve played many roles from English teacher, Physical Education teacher, Dean of Students, Basketball coach and even self-defense instructor. Working with kids from various angles has allowed me great insight into how we actually develop from children, to teenagers, to young adults and adults. I have been blessed to learn a tremendous amount of lessons and gain invaluable wisdom from their positive thinking stories. Today I will focus on 3 key ideas that could change your life and have certainly changed mine.

1. It is never too late or too early to re-write your autobiography – Positive Thinking Stories. Any English teacher, at any grade level, has the standard project assigned to their students of writing their own autobiography. This assignment is phenomenal because not only do students work on their reading and writing skills, but as an educator we learn a great deal about who our student is, was and aspires to be. I can honestly say I have read hundreds of autobiographical stories, poems and narratives and enjoyed them all for different reasons. One reason, is the ever prevailing theme of overcoming obstacles. Every story I have ever read by a student was centered around overcoming various obstacles – either family, environment and/or social -emotional. What is different in every story is  WHAT THAT EVENT HAS MEANT TO THE CHILD. The meaning of such obstacles is the exact point where young people start to separate themselves from the pack. Already, some young people have a clearly articulated TALE OF VICTORY. Some young people might not know what to make of these events and just describe them plainly. While on the other hand, some young people unfortunately see these obstacles as their entire life and not as an event in their life. A critical distinction. As for adults, oddly enough the same is true. As adults, we like to put ourselves on a pedestal, thinking that we are much smarter and wiser than a child – but at times carry ourselves the same way. Think about the stories we tell in our daily communication. When we speak about our goals, our direction, our past. How we speak to ourselves, how we speak to others. How we describe the world, how we describe our world. Are we telling a tale of victory? Do our obstacles define us? Or, does our interpretation of the obstacles define us? How we interpret our obstacles will determine if we go through it, go around it or even worse  become it!

2. Where did our fearlessness go?Positive Thinking Stories. Children running around, having fun, full of passion and fearlessness. As we get older, where do these emotions go? Why is it that we can lose our passion and fearlessness as we get older? Is it because we are mature? Is it because we have become realistic? Is it because we have bills? Or that life was simpler as a child? If that’s true, then let us think about some people who are regarded as ‘highly successful’. Let’s say for example, the Wright Brothers – since I love traveling. These adults thought that they could – despite the failure of the people before them – hoist groups people thousands of feet in the air and transport them thousands of miles. They dared to believe that they could build  machines that would FLY. Even crazier, they thought people would PAY TO BE HOISTED THOUSANDS OF FEET IN THE AIR, and then LAND SAFELY. Now, when you look at flying like that, it doesn’t seem realistic, it seems crazy. It doesn’t seem like an everyday event, that is done millions of times a day, routinely. The Wright Brothers were clearly fearless and we’re NOT aiming to be ‘realistic’. If they wanted to be realistic they would have walked! If Edison wanted to be realistic we would still be burning candles for light! Did they lose their fearlessness or passion? When we push past our fears and go with our passion just like the Wright Brothers did- not only does the unrealistic, become realistic, it can actually become routine! Crazy, huh?

3. Be in your own world – Positive Thinking Stories. I have seen too many classrooms, at times including mine, that have been chaotic, loud and busy. In that same room, often I see in the mist, one small group young scholars, heads down, pen to paper, working diligently. To this day when I see that, it just absolutely amazes me. How in the world can these kids stayed focused with all the distractions going on around them? Then, when you ask them they  say, “I don’t know”. Or maybe they give you a break down, like: “Well, I’m used to it. Sara always talks back, Johny always dances during class and those 3 are always arguing. Me, Tim and Laura always sit together and get our work done.” Wow! At such an early age you are able to understand that when you focus, distractions can be managed, and managed well. When you are so focused on your goal, all you are concerned with is WHAT YOU CAN CONTROL. They are also in the initial stages of developing their network, and are usually very selective of who they let in their circle! Very interesting lessons to be learned or re-learned! So interesting, since as adults we have the tendency to give these fancy rationales for why our circumstances are hindering our progress and productivity. Our quality of life will be determined by the control we have over our internal world. Its not about what happens to you or around you, it’s about what happens inside of you!

Thank you for reading and feel free to comment!!

 

Also check these encouraging thoughts!

Positive Thinking Stories

32 responses to “Positive Thinking Stories – 3 things I have learned from working with children

  1. So true. I am a multigenerational educator. Although not in the education system directly any longer, I taught Special Ed for 3 years in San Diego, I just started working as a tutor/mentor for a 20 year old with Aspergers. I myself have not been able to work in 2 years due to my Fibromyalgia, but am strengthening myself back and this is my first working endeavor since diagnosis. I am excited about this new experience and feel that by working with him, it will assist me on my own journey to recovery. In just two meetings, we have already been able to have a connection with our individual struggles, and on the first day I got him to see that he is not his Autism, as I am not my Fibro.

    Thanks for following my blog, and look forward to reading more of what you have to say. Kudos for being an educator, and seemingly a very caring educator, in this age where it seems like less talent and interest are finding their way into classrooms.

    • Great story Dave!! I think it is amazing how much we learn about ourselves and life by working to bring out the best in others!! Beautiful story and thank you for the warm words!

  2. “Its not about what happens to you or around you, it’s about what happens inside of you!”

    *Something to think about. Strong message this one. Thank-you.*

  3. Thanks so much for checking in and following posts on Community of the Incarnation. But thanks even more for working with kids. I teach college level and am always defending this generation from the ones who only see them talking on their phones. They are thoughtful and caring and wise beyond their years, thanks to educators like you who helped them along in their younger years. I gave up control with them a long time ago – this isn’t “my” class, I tell them. It’s yours. And they thrive. thanks again for following and for finding the words to assist your journey. Janet

  4. Saw you on my blog and stopped by to check yours out. Loved the comments about assigning the autobiography. I never did a long serious version of that as a teacher, but did daily journals and really learned lots about my students through them. So many times at staff meetings, I had insights that others didn’t have a clue about. Keep up the good writing, I hope to be back.

  5. The students are lucky to have an educator like you who is deep and profound. I can relate much being an educator myself. There are lots to learn from children. If adults continued to be childlike, then the world would be a better place to live in. Right? 🙂

  6. I LOVE this for many different reasons. I am a person who has learned to appreciate the powerful lessons you can be taught by children when you just watch them in the last few years. I will admit before that…me and kids played a different game lol. But when I tell you they keep me encouraged, fearless and entertained by the simple things. Thank you for sharing!

  7. I come from the Philippines where majority of our Filipino children come from poor families. as a life coach/counselor, i learned that even in difficult circumstances these children can be resilient. we learn to use indigenous interventions to nurture resilience in these children and help them rise above their diificult circumstances, teach them life skills, focus on what they can achieve and with extended families (we have lots here) as their support network.i like reading this blog. we need more child educators like you who are sensitive, intelligent, reflective and sees learning as a lifelong passion. blessings heap!

  8. Jeff,

    You are cool! What an incredible mission. I am so impressed with My Everyday Power Blog. I aspire to influence a similar mission. What a great post this is.

    You wrote:
    “Our quality of life will be determined by the control we have over our internal world. Its not about what happens to you or around you, it’s about what happens inside of you!”

    This is the key, isn’t it? It takes practice. I know from experience, but slowly it becomes more integrated into our beings.

    Thank you for visiting my blog: mysignatureblog.com. So grateful to have found you. I look forward to following you and exploring more of your posts.

    With love, Amanda

  9. Pingback: I Just Moved to India!! | Everyday Power Blog·

  10. Pingback: Turning 30 & The 30 Things I’ve Learned About Life | Everyday Power Blog·

Comments are closed.